Middle School

Social Studies Curriculum by Grade Level

Sixth Grade

The theme of sixth grade social studies is conflict resolution. Through a close study of the Constitution and the Bill of Rights, students examine how the defining principles of our nation have evolved with the growth of the country. Additionally, we analyze and apply divergent theories of conflict resolution to key events in our nation’s history. From the initial arguments over slavery in the Constitution to the Civil War and beyond, we examine how the fundamental principles established in the Bill of Rights continue to impact and shape our country. Finally, in our Holocaust unit, we examine events leading up to Hitler’s election and subsequent takeover of Germany. In each of our units students, examine ethical issues and how conflicts both could have been and were resolved.

Units of study include:

  • Conflict and the new Constitution
  • Westward Expansion reflecting the growing divisions between the North and South
  • Civil War
  • Conflict resolution and the lead-up to the Holocaust
  • The Holocaust and our Constitution
  • The Civil Rights movement and the Bill of Rights

Seventh Grade

Seventh grade social studies looks at the movement of Jews from Europe to America from the Spanish Inquisition until today. Students study the multitude of reasons and factors that prompted the search for a permanent home.

Among the units of study are:

  • The first Jews in America 1492 to 1654
  • Religion, Slavery, and War 1800 to 1875
  • Arrival of Eastern European Jews 1881 to 1921
  • Labor Movement and Jobs 1901 to 1930

Eighth Grade

In eighth grade, students analyze and compare religion, government, and lifestyle of the ancient world to the contemporary world. Students will create and build projects such as Babylonian Hanging Gardens and Roman cities as they demonstrate understanding of new material.

Units of study include:

  • Prehistory: We study the era of human development before written language
  • The First Civilizations: This unit includes studying the Fertile Crescent, Mesopotamia, Sumer, gods and goddesses, and polytheism
  • Israelites and the Land Of Canaan: Including early Judaism and monotheism
  • Ancient Civilizations: Phoenician, Indian, Roman, and Greek
  • Spain-5th Century to 15th Century