AMOS & CELIA HEILICHER MINNEAPOLIS JEWISH DAY SCHOOL

Heilicher Athletics

After-school sports are a fun and energetic way to learn new skills, make friends, and show your Heilicher spirit. We offer a variety of sports to continue your child’s learning and development outside of the classroom. In every sport, we emphasize teamwork, self-confidence, and leadership, along with athletics skills and game strategy.


Spring 2019 Athletics

CO-ED TENNIS

GRADES K-2 TENNIS
APRIL 15 - JUNE 5, 2019

MONDAYS & WEDNESDAYS 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
OR
TUESDAYS & THURSDAYS 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
Before March 15: $250
Standard Price: $300
One Day Option before March 15: $130
One Day Standard Price: $180

K-2 after-school tennis starts with the fundamentals through fun games and drills. With continued practice, your child will develop the techniques and skills needed to become a true tennis player. We will play on the Sabes JCC sport court.

 

GRADES 3-4 TENNIS
APRIL 15 - JUNE 5, 2019

MONDAYS & WEDNESDAYS 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
OR
TUESDAYS & THURSDAYS 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
Before March 15: $250
Standard Price: $300
One Day Option before March 15: $130
One Day Standard Price: $180

Grades 3-4 tennis players will sharpen skills and learn scoring and game play. We will play on the Sabes JCC sport court.

 

GRADES 5-6 TENNIS
APRIL 15 - JUNE 5, 2019

MONDAYS & WEDNESDAYS 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
OR
TUESDAYS & THURSDAYS 3:30 - 5:30 P.M.
Before March 15: $250
Standard Price: $300
One Day Option before March 15: $130
One Day Standard Price: $180

The 5-8 Heilicher tennis team will focus on tennis fundamentals and allow students to practice game play. Students will practice every day the first week of the season. We will play on the Sabes JCC sport court.

CO-ED K-2 BIKING

APRIL 15–JUNE 5, 2019
MONDAYS & WEDNESDAYS 3:30–5:30 P.M.
OR TUESDAYS & THURSDAYS 3:30–5:30 P.M.

Before March 15: $250
Standard Price: $300
One Day Option before March 15: $130
One Day Standard Price: $180


The grades K-2 Heilicher Lions beginner group will practice body positioning, shifting, braking, cornering, ascending, and descending techniques with the goal of progressing to the Heilicher Lions Development Team. We will bike on paths adjacent to Heilicher and the Sabes JCC.

Helmets and bikes required.*

MINIMUM OF 6 REGISTRANTS IS REQUIRED FOR THE PROGRAM TO START.

*Several helmets and bikes of various sizes are available to students needing equipment support on a first come, first served basis.

CO-ED 2-5 MTN BIKING

APRIL 15–JUNE 5, 2019
MONDAYS & WEDNESDAYS 3:30–5:30 P.M.
OR TUESDAYS & THURSDAYS 3:30–5:30 P.M.
Before March 15: $250
Standard Price: $300
One Day Option before March 15: $130
One Day Standard Price: $180


The grades 2-5 Heilicher Lions development team will practice body positioning, shifting, braking, cornering, ascending, and descending techniques with the goal of riding sections of the single track trail at Theodore Wirth Park, located adjacent to Heilicher and the Sabes JCC.

Helmets and mountain bikes required.*

MINIMUM OF 6 REGISTRANTS IS REQUIRED FOR THE PROGRAM TO START.

*Several helmets and mountain bikes of various sizes are available to students needing equipment support on a first come, first served basis.

CO-ED 5-8 ULTIMATE

APRIL 9 - MAY 30, 2019
TUESDAYS & THURSDAYS 3:45 - 5:15 P.M.
& SUNDAYS TBA

Before February 6: $200
Standard Price: $250
Registration closes March 22, 2019.

The 5-8 Heilicher ultimate frisbee team will work on improving skills and speed. Practices on Tuesdays and Thursdays and games on Sundays in the Minnesota Middle School Ultimate League.

*Requires carpool to/from Sunday games.

Heilicher Athletics Schedule

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat/Sun
Mon, Apr 1
5-6 Volleyball Practice
-
Tue, Apr 2
7-8 Volleyball Practice
-
Wed, Apr 3
Thu, Apr 4
7-8 Volleyball Practice
-
Fri, Apr 5
Sat, Apr 6
Sun, Apr 7
Mon, Apr 8
5-6 Volleyball Practice
-
Tue, Apr 9
5-8 Ultimate Starts
-
Thu, Apr 11
5-8 Ultimate Practice
-
Fri, Apr 12
Sat, Apr 13
Mon, Apr 15
2-5 Mountain Biking Starts
-
3-4 Tennis Starts
-
5-8 Tennis Starts
-
K-2 Bike Skills Starts
-
5-6 Volleyball Practice
-
Wed, Apr 17
Thu, Apr 18
5-8 Ultimate Practice
-
Fri, Apr 19
Sat, Apr 20
Sun, Apr 21
Mon, Apr 22
Tue, Apr 23
Wed, Apr 24
Thu, Apr 25
Fri, Apr 26
Sat, Apr 27
Mon, Apr 29
Tue, Apr 30
5-8 Ultimate Practice
-
7-8 Volleyball Practice
-
Wed, May 1
5-6 Volleyball Practice
-
Thu, May 2
5-8 Ultimate Practice
-
Fri, May 3
Sat, May 4
Sun, May 5

Calendar & Category Legend:

  • Heilicher Athletics
    • Boys 7-8 Basketball
    • 5-6 Basketball White
    • Girls 7-8 Basketball
    • K-2 Basketball
    • 3-4 Basketball
    • 5-6 Volleyball
    • 7-8 Volleyball
    • K-2 Tennis
    • 3-4 Tennis
    • 5-8 Ultimate
    • 5-6 Soccer
    • Boys 6-7-8 Soccer
    • Girls 6-7-8 Soccer
    • K-2 Soccer
    • 3-4 Soccer
    • 5-6 Basketball Blue
    • K-2 Bike Skills
    • 2-5 FUN Mountain Biking
    • 5-8 Tennis
    • Boys 7-8 Soccer
After-school Quick Links

The extra-curricular options are so broad! There really was something for everyone!

Heilicher Parent

I loved being on the sports teams at Heilicher. They were fun and not too pressure-filled. I felt more comfortable going out for sports in high school, which was a great way to meet new people!

Heilicher Graduate